Posted by: nolapoirier | August 16, 2010

A 50 Mile, 15 Minute Coffee Break: by Nola Poirier

Chicory!

I should say off the top that I’m not a coffee drinker. I’m more of an herbal tea kind of girl. You can likely tell I’m not a coffee drinker, because I started the 50 miles of local eating blog with a bowl of oatmeal instead of a steaming mug of dark roast. I’ll confess too, that the reason I don’t drink coffee is not something so noble as the distance it travels to get to one’s mug. It’s that coffee gets me all cranked up so I can’t stop talking and my insides feel like a swarm of hummingbirds trapped in an empty greenhouse surrounded by flowering shrubs. The same thing happens with chocolate or red wine, or even too much green tea, but, well, there are a few things that make the hummingbird effect worthwhile.

Read the entire article here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

